In Depth

Recently we have been learning about worms and the correlation with the Great Lakes region. Combining our knowledge with poetry and science together we created these poems. It wasn’t easy to work with two totally opposite things, but me managed to get it done.

 

Dark Horizons
by Tyler Harrison


Lurking deep under the duffs
and entrenched  the depths of the
Dark Horizon called A
Marking the newly tainted and ravaged
humus
Feasting on the fungi that clings to the roots
Wreaking havoc and corrosion to the invaded and wrongfully claimed ecosystem
Robbing the life from the other inhabitants as the blind thief in the night
lies the fiend called
Lumbricus terrestris.

 

Thief
by Zainab Bansfield


Crawling through the depths of soil
Trying to avoid the sun so they don’t boil
Devouring the nutrients at night
Robbing the precious life
Digging burrows as deep as 2 meters
Growing to large sizes: 15 centimeters
They are the biggest of their species
Creeping through the night dropping their feces
Don’t trust nightcrawlers
They corrupt the secret order of the forest

 

We Were Wrong!
by Eric Williams


Lumbricus Terrestris,
a worm that is careless,
a miniscule menace,
whose practices are careless.
The forest floor has an order,
that the worms disregard
We thought they were good for us,
but we may have been wrong,
They expose the seeds
And hide under leaves
They burrow underground as deep
as their thick, slimy bodies please.
Worms ruin a plant’s roots,
Corrupt their systems.
They may be fragile and weak,
but the forest is the real victim.

 

No Escape
by Allie Johnston

Burrowed about six feet under
Beautiful, pure, moist soil covers
Skinny but long
Five inches of intestines
Night Crawlers crawl
Hiding from the bright sun
Trying to escape the acid
The mustard mixture sinks
Going deeper below the duff layer
Burning everything in it’s path

 

11 thoughts on “In Depth

  1. This poem is about how, despite popular belief, worms aren’t always the best for our forests. I chose to write about this because I used to think worms were great for the environment and they were awesome to have, but I was wrong. I don’t want other people to be wrong, so I’m giving this information to them. I hope people find my poem entertaining.

  2. I enjoyed writing this poem, but initially hadn’t planned on using it. My poem was about how destructive worms can be when they’re in the wrong place. They take it and claim it as their own, rearrange it, and ravage what it has to offer.

  3. My poem “No Escape” was inspired by bullying; no matter how hard you try and get away it will catch up to you and it will hurt you.

  4. My poem was inspired by my views of the media. This is meant to be an analogy of it. I used sentences that can be related to “news and media reports” such as “worms ruin a plant’s roots”. That is basically saying that a worm can destroy a plant’s roots (surface) and the media can corrupt a child’s innocence (deeper).

  5. I loved the theme of this blog post: those menacing worms! Your poems are entertaining AND educational. So interesting to read that Allie’s and Eric’s poems are meant to reflect non-science things: bullying and the media, respectively. I didn’t see direct connections to these ideas in the poems so I went back and re-read. I wonder if a few strategically-placed words would help readers know that the poems are working on multiple levels.

  6. After rereading a few times, I noticed that Tyler’s poem ends with Lumbricus terrestris and Eric’s starts with it. If Eric’s immediately followed Tyler’s, that could be a nice transition from one poem to the next.

  7. I love how all of you guys poems fit perfectly together. I really like Eric’s poem in specifically. The way you rhyme and explain what the worms do and how we as people may be wrong really stands out. Think all of you did a great job combining science and poetry together.

  8. Allie, I like how descriptive you are in your poem. “Skinny but long.” Or, “Five inches of intestines.” This helps me imagine the worms you’re seeing. I also really like the ending of your poem, “Burning everything in it’s path.” It’s a dramatic end to an interesting poem. I think you did a great job describing the worms, and even mentioned the mustard extraction method we were using to get them out of the ground.

Comments are closed.