Pine Woods Poetry

On a seemingly normal day of science class, a group of unsuspecting students was asked to write poetry. There was much protesting from the students, but alas they hung their heads and began to write.

One student by the name of Amber wrote a poem about the process of worm counting and how to correctly set it up, while another by the name of Sydney wrote about the different layers of soil, as yet another, with the name Emma, wrote about worms invading the environment, and last, but certainly not least, a student named Mohammad wrote about nightcrawlers (ew!). And this is how they went.

Worm Mace
by Amber Klaus

The mixture of mustard powder
And water
Mixed together in a big jug
To sink down
Into the soil where the worms lay
And still live
Serves as a mace on the surface
Of the worm
It burns
As the potion percolates down
The worms panic
Quickly, the worms rush up to the air
For hopeful
Relief


Soil Profile
by Sydney Baker

“O” layer: organic material
“A” layer: topmost minerals
“E” layer: a gradient of colors
“B” layer: dissolved minerals leaching down
“C” layer: weathered parent material
“Parent” layer: glacial till
“Bedrock” layer: bottom.


The Perfect Ecosystem
by Emma Chinchak

A perfect ecosystem
Filled with plenty of nutrients
Where the leaf litter decomposes
And the bacteria and fungi live happily

A perfect ecosystem is now in the line of disaster
Little pink, gray, and brown worms are on their way
They will slowly creep in at about five meters a year
And take their places all over the forest floor

A perfect ecosystem is now being corrupted
The Anecic, Endogeic, and Epigeic worms have now arrived
They’ve been eating the important fungi
And are keeping the duff layer from decomposing as quickly

Once a perfect ecosystem,
Now has a change in life
The diversity has shifted
All because the worms invasion


Night Crawler
by Mohammad Aggour

You are not from here.
All you bring is fear to a well stable ecosystem.
Destroying many important features:
Duff Layer
Eat valuable Bacteria and Fungi
Ruin nutrients that is essential for trees.
Climbing up and down a burrow.
You live 2 meters underground
You Anecic
You Endogeic
You Epigeic Species.
Not Native nor Helpful.
You came from Europe thinking you are tough
Now do us a favor and go
Back
Home!

10 thoughts on “Pine Woods Poetry

  1. My poem “Soil Profile” was uncharted territory for me, because I have never written a science poem before, and as I wrote this poem I was trying to show that there is no such thing as “dirt”. Dirt is just a overgeneralized word that we use to describe any type of soil, and I hope show you that things are not always as they seem.

  2. My poem was inspired by the trip we made out to the forest. I was fascinated by the large Anecic worms (night crawlers) that I found in the forest. I did more research and I decided to share this information in a way that I have not yet attempted to do. So I wrote the science poem “Night Crawler” to try to give others the information I gathered in a fun way.

  3. It was worth all of the protests and head-hanging…look at these impressive poems and your slick blog! You’re welcome for introducing you to science poetry!

    At the end of Mohammad’s entertaining poem, he tries to banish the nightcrawlers. Emma also wrote about why worms are harmful. Besides sending all of the worms back to Europe, is there anything humans or nature can do to correct this problem?

  4. “As the potion percolates down” has a wonderful rhythm to it, doesn’t it? It just sort of bubbles out of one’s mouth, and I can feel the mustard solution seeping more deeply as I say it. Well done, Amber! I could feel it percolate all the way through Sydney’s poem below.

    One question for this group: did you arrange your poems vertically, from top to bottom, to move the reader from the surface (Amber’s poem) all the way, two meters down, to Mohammad’s night crawlers?

  5. My poem was inspired by the harms and changes that worms have on an ecosystem. Before studying worms, I had always believed that worms were completely helpful to the environment, so I was very surprised to find out the opposite. Because I learned about how harmful worms are in science class, I decided to make my poem into a story about how the worms slowly travel into an ecosystem and unknowingly corrupt it.

  6. My poem was inspired by the process of worm “hunting” outside in the Pine Woods. I didn’t understand what the mixture of water and mustard powder would do prior to the activity, but when I found out I had a sense of empathy for the worms. Mr. Long told me it was like a pepper spray, but for worms, and I kind of pitied them. I thought it would be nice and interesting if I wrote a poem about how the worm feels and how it (probably) wants to get hopeful relief.

  7. Nice hook to start out your post! It made me want to read the rest of the post! Also, I liked how your poems were different in some way because Mohammad talks about night crawlers being bad to the environment, then Emma talks about all worms being bad to the environment, Sydney talks about the soil profile, and Amber talks about the mustard extraction. I enjoyed reading all your poems because they are filled with lots of science!

  8. I like how in the poem “The Perfect Ecosystem” Emma started out with how the hardwood forest was a perfect place and undisturbed, then she said what it is that is destroying the ecosystem in great detail.

  9. On “Worm Mace” I really liked the tittle name and how it really described the poem. I also liked how she used the word “mace” instead of something else like poison.

Comments are closed.