Slow Slithering Science

There is more to science than just chemicals, formulas, and experiments. There is more to poetry than just rhyming, figurative language, and stanzas. You can use poetry to explain the concepts of science that we learn, whether it be in literal terms or figurative. For example, after learning about and studying worms for three weeks, one might be inspired to write a poem about it.

The Art of Science
by Brielle Matthews

Science
You teach me,
a world filled of elements,
equations, formulas, a’s and x’s
Matter–
science does matter
Hectic
a world that shows me so much– knowledge
Science
A system designed to study structure, behavior
through observation
through experiment.
Science
Physical and natural
From the deep depths of the ground–
to the towering peak of the sky
Complex, compelling, conducive
Science


The Lonely Worm
by Lily Peterson

The anecic worm lives far below
In darkness and deepness and things unknown;
The endogeic much higher, for he acts so brave,
But the others don’t see that he is a fake;
The epigeic worm, now, lives higher than all,
And lives for the light and the leaves of the fall;
However, there are things not seen by the rest,
For that little worm is surely the best;
He causes less harm than the fakes of the deep,
But nobody’s perfect, the duff layer he’ll eat;
The greatest worm, that of the deep and dark,
Is a machine that eats leaves and tree bark;
What none of the worms know and cannot foresee,
Is the giants will extract them by mustard with glee;
The disparity between them is about to fall
When they all come up and all appear small;
But do not fear, because death is not declared
In the area of ground that’s one-fourth meter squared;
So after this poem, I hope you all believe
That differences between people shouldn’t easily be seen,
For if the time comes when we all feel the hurt,
Life on our own is really the worst.


Let’s Save the Environment
by Daniel Gherasim

Deep in the forest lies a worm
Digging a burrow for its home
It’s long and dark pink, inside the burrow
Deep inside, where it is very narrow
Worm has settled, and the forest floor fades
Ecosystem shifts, and trees cascade
Not much of a duff layer, us humans observe
This is definitely not what the ecosystem deserves
We make it better by taking the worms out
Take some out, and see another one sprout
There are so many worms, so many burrows
Saving the ecosystem is like being a superhero
Fifty, sixty worms, I see
There are so many worms, how can it be
Thought they help the environment
But we were wrong, they are violent
Let’s save the environment


The Innocuous Worm
by Joselyn Carter

Wiggling down to the surface of Mother Nature
a creature with cylindrical body
divided into segments
each one a different color
looking so innocent
unknowingly destroying Mother Nature
as it crawls through the crevices of soil
damaging bulbs overtime as the plants slowly die
creating less liveliness of green and more deadly dull brown
well known in this area
but were never native
thanks to the European soil
a creature so little
invading our green forests
damaging Mother Nature
innocuous and unknowingly

10 thoughts on “Slow Slithering Science

  1. The inspiration to my poem was from the damage that the worms has caused in the forests. Many people believed that the worms were good for the soil. Even though they may have been, they still caused a lot of damages to the forest. If I would’ve never studied this for the three weeks that we did then my poem would only think that the worms are innocent but i became aware that they were innocuous because they aren’t really aware of what they are doing but they are harming the forests.

  2. I had some previous experience with poetry before writing my poem, the real challenge was adding science into it. I wanted it to be written like a short story with a simple rhyme scheme, and that was simple enough. Combining worms, humanity, science, and poetry isn’t the easiest thing in the world, though. Then I remembered that worms live on different levels of soil and come in different sizes depending on what type they are (anecic, epigeic, and endogeic), sort of how people live in different situations and all look different. Having that figured out, I decided to make the poem into a short story about worms all ending up in the same situation that eliminates the disparity between them (mustard extraction) to show that the differences between them are not so far, symbolizing humans and how we shouldn’t focus on the things that make us different.

  3. I am familiar with science, and I am familiar with poetry, but science poetry took me for a loop. Mr. Long and Ms. Glupker introduced the topic as a whole stating that the objective is to be able to contribute factors of science in a poetic form. This was semi- complicated for me because I hadn’t written it before. Because I am experienced in creating poetry, it was a bit easier. I chose to direct my poem in a different direction. The Art of Science is meant to describe the complex, yet interesting sides to science. My idea, was to give the meaning of science, before fellow peers delivered their poems which focused on a specific topic of science- worms. While it may have been a task deciding what to write about, or what I wanted to say in general, it was an interesting assignment.

    • I, too, don’t think of science and poetry as going together. I think of science as much more exact and specific. I think of poetry as very fluid and very much open to individual interpretation. I think it’s great that you are familiar with poetry. Maybe I could take my affinity for rhyming to the next level. Nice job.
      Mrs. Grysen

  4. I was inspired to write this poem because I care for the environment, and when I heard that worms are actually destroying the environment, they became my worst enemy. Worms are destroying the environment, as you can see in my poem. These worms need to be stopped, and we need to save the environment by stopping these worms. In Lets Save the Environment, my main goal is to inform everyone that worms are an enemy to the forest. I described the process in which a worm enters and the effects of a worm entering a forest, and I hope you realize that worms are the forest’s enemy.

  5. I really enjoyed the worm-like, undulating shape that center-alignment gives these poems (a choice that I usually find distracting for other poems). Bravo!

    And I also enjoyed the way each poem in the ensemble moved together, from Brielle’s introduction to the poetry of science, through Lily’s detailed examination of the varieties of worms, all the way to the final two poets’ concerns about the effects these creatures have on our local ecosystems.

  6. I really do find these poems very impressive and interesting due to what is truly said about us and the worms in this world with a few parts which I can really see how strong of some poetry it is. Interesting with what true meanings and facts of science, one big act of one small worm in large events, incredible strong effects with the environment, and a big invasion of one small creature.

  7. Daniel I really liked in your poem how you showed people that worms are bad for the environment, but I feel that your poem doesn’t show the effects that the worms have on a certain environment.

  8. Lily, I really like your poem “The Lonely Worm”, my favorite thing about it is how you shed light on all the worms, while almost everyone else is focused on the nightcrawler. Something that I would liked to have seen even more of were the effects that each worm had or maybe even giving a slightly deeper narrative about a person and their role.

  9. Lily, I love the comparison you gave between each type of worm. I also like how you told a story with it and rhymed it all too!

Comments are closed.