The Silent Killers

A long time ago there were native species of worms that were wiped out by the glaciers. Travelers from Europe came upon this land with  new exotic species of anecic, endogenic, and epigeic worms. How do poems and worms go together?  By combining the science of the worms with the literature of poetry, turning something that may be boring into something that is interesting. Learning something new with a technique that’s not usually used. But how do we do that?

Epic Destruction
by TaQuieshia Richmond

Nightcrawlers stay hidden
Deep below the soil
Unclassified in devours, fertilizing the soil
You are a nightcrawler
In the depths of deception
Destroying the stable environment
Fertilizing a new place
In which you don’t belong
Causing chaos within the organisms
Gliding around around without a care
Stay hidden in the dark
Appear when forced by solution
Cause such a destruction in life’s cycle
You are like a nightcrawler


The Destructive Nightcrawlers
by Mustafa Aggour

Fall comes around
And the leaves fall down
Creating a layer of duff on the ground
But soon it all goes away
As the nightcrawlers eat everything in their way
They can get up to 1 foot long
But they’re not that strong
They dig burrows 2 meters deep
So they can go to sleep
And when humans use the liquid mustard
They rise as fast as they can
But don’t grab them too soon
because if they feel vibrations
They’ll run away from you


Untitled
by Abbey Knowlton

Worms
Three types
Epigeic, Endogeic, Anecic.

Epigeic
Surface worms
Eats duff layer

Destroying
Homes of
Small surface creatures

Endogeic
Medium sized
Eats good bacteria

Lives
Near the
Roots of trees

Anecic
There borrows
Two meters deep

Like
Owls they
Come at night

Good for gardens
Not forests
Worms


Pinewood Adventure
by Monica Bauman

Empty jug, mustard powder, a powerful shake.
An open door, a long walk,
We reach our lush green destination.
Duff layer is scraped away, dirt invading our fingernails.
Pouring mustard into the dark brown soil, hitting the ground so hard it splashes our ankles.
10 worms emerge.
Surprised faces place the squirming night crawlers in the buckets.
Data is recorded, a successful day, a pinewoods adventure.

11 thoughts on “The Silent Killers

  1. I was inspired to write about the Nightcrawlers because they are completely misunderstood. People think that they are so helpful for the environment, but actually they are the forest’s nightmare. I thought that I could educate people about what the worms actually do and how bad the are for the hardwood forest.

  2. Writing this poem didn’t actually come easy to me. After doing some poetry during the last semester with Mrs.Glupker made the structure and process of making a poem simple. I had more trouble with putting the science and the literature together. I found using the anecic worms (night crawlers) wound be easy to compare to a evil person. The anecic worms disrupt the forest by messing up what was already stable before they arrived. Which is the same with an evil person by them disrupting other people’s lives that was fine before they came into the picture. By me making this comparison that’s how my poem Epic Destruction came along.

  3. I enjoy writing poems but this science poem came harder to me because I couldn’t seem to manage the scientific part with the literature aspect. I started out writing what I knew about worms and turned it into a Hinaku trying to put it into an actual poem form. While constructing the poem I tried to give a little information about the different types of worms and what they did to a forest, and I hope that it shows that worms aren’t as good in forests as people might think.

  4. Abbey, I really like that you used the Hai (na) ku format of 3-2-1 or 1-2-3 words per line. Stringing more than one together was a great way to include more detail into a form that is limited by its rigid structure.

  5. The intro paragraph is great. I love the way you introduced the theme of the worms and how they’ve been introduced into the Great Lakes region.

  6. When Mrs. Glupker and Mr. Long told us that we had to write a science poem for class, I was really nervous. I never was one to share my writing, and I was very insecure about how well my poem would turn out. It wasn’t easy to write, but I decided to explain the process of going out into the Pinewoods and using the mustard extraction method to make the worms come out of the ground. It doesn’t really go into depth, but I think it gets the basic point across and shows what we were out there doing.

  7. I like how in Monica’s poem “Pinewood Adventure” it’s so easy to imagine what the writer is going through. I paints a nice picture, like a story.

  8. In TaQuieshia’s poem the title made me want to read more, it hooked me. I also liked how you didn’t start off directly saying how the worms were destructive, but instead had the poem lead to that. However I feel as though you could have added to the poem and put in more explanation.

  9. I enjoyed reading TaQuieshia’s poem. She had a very eye catching title. I loved the words she used to describe what the worms were doing, for example the word “chaos”. To add onto that, I liked how she used the knowledge she had to describe how the worm caused chaos and she gave us examples how.

  10. This is a great collection of poems, TaQuieshia used great word choice such as “Devours and Glide” and I like that you used 3rd person style of writing to talk about the worms. Mustafa has multiple stanzas with rhymes and it flowed smoothly. Abbey probably has the best layout with Hinaku pomes. Monica thoroughly explained the processes and specifically wrote about the day in the wood. Great Job!

  11. I really liked the introduction, it was a great hook for wanting to read more! It almost felt as if I were about to read a story. I also really liked Abbey’s poem about Epigeic, Endogeic, Anecic worm types and what they do and how they effect the environment. The spacing was nice as well.

Comments are closed.