Worms, Citizen Science, Buffets, and Finding Love

Science, a topic often arranged with the word “boring” by many. However, I believe this is because reading a scientific paper has lots of vocabulary which requires a deep understanding of complex concepts. But what if it were made easy to read and rhythmical like a poem? With this blog post my group and I represented our knowledge of science and how they connect to things in the real world. Once complex ideas including citizen science, earthworms affecting ecosystems, and love; are now represented artfully in the form of  various poems.

Citizen Science
by Evan Dews

Citizen science,
it’s like WD-40,
improves the function

Of what, you may ask?
The collection of data,
encompassing more.

Improving study,
with data from all places,
public involvement.

From the guys in labs,
to the average Joe,
science can be done

Fly kite, get data,
dig a hole, get some data,
contribute research.


Finding Worms, Finding Love?
by Chloe Elwell

No earthworms native
here in the Great Lakes region.
Eleven thousand…

years ago to four-
teen thousand years ago they
died from ice glaciers.

Earthworms here today
originate from Europe,
like love appearing…

what once was not there
suddenly arrives and stays
forever.

Flip and strip sampling
compares to playing the field.
Former means you search…

all over forest
catching diff. worm types wanted,
testing each one out.

Flip and strip sampling
compares to playing the field.
Latter means you search…

all over the world
catching diff. people wanted
testing each one out.

After finding the worm,
the next step is a report.
After finding “the one,”
the next step is a vow.


The Worm and I
by Megan Martin

They don’t try to harm.
They are not the enemy.
They do some good things .
Worms help the soil
By creating paths for air
and water to flow.
They help feed the plants.
They break down material.
They leave their castings.
But many may think,
That night crawlers are just pest.
They are so much more.
While hiding away,
They work their magic for us.
They don’t want credit.
I am just like them.
I want to help those in need.
We simply want to
live in peace.


A Worm’s Buffet
by Mohamed Said

As they travel to unknown lands,
In a place where no other worm has been before.
They come in different sizes,
Two small one big.
Each burrowing and feeding differently.
One eats and dwells in litter,
Named Epigeic.
Another eats and dwells in soil,
Named Endogeic.
Living Deep underground,
The last eats litter and soil
Making him the biggest around,
Named Anecic.
The creatures once known as the guardians of gardens,
Placed in a forest are the destructive beasts.
Forest ecosystems flourishing with duff
Are now barren like a dried up valley
Stealing nutrients from all the life;
Compacting soil;
Drying logs;
Eating leaves, fungi,
Bacteria and roots.
For all they knew the all you can eat buffet was here.

 

14 thoughts on “Worms, Citizen Science, Buffets, and Finding Love

  1. My poem “Citizen Science” was inspired by how helpful anyone can be to scientific study and research, how it is more accessible than one would think and that it’s beneficial to all involved.

  2. The poem I wrote called “A Worm’s Buffet” was inspired after I had learned that earthworms which are known as helpful creatures by common folk are actually harmful to forest ecosystems. Surprisingly, Earthworms are an invasive species. After learning that earthworms, in a region which could already support itself without earthworms, do things like depriving the forest from nutrients, I decided that I would spread awareness to the general public through entertaining and informational poetry.

    • The shape of your poem is so cool! I love how the lines in bottom half of your poem get shorter and shorter as the land goes from “The creatures once known as the guardians of gardens” to “Compacting soil;/ Drying logs;/ Eating leaves, fungi,/ Bacteria and roots.”

  3. The multiple, threaded-together Haiku poems I wrote called “Finding Worms, Finding Love?” was inspired by my recent education on worms, and my long held fantasy about love. Before learning about worms I don’t think I would have said they could compare to love in any way, but after digging deep I realized they do. When looking for both, they have one form of searching in common, “flip and strip sampling” to find the worm, and “playing the field” to find love. (Although, I’d like to point out that neither form of searching is necessarily the way to go. There are better ways! “Flip and strip sampling” is less efficient, and “playing the field” could become overwhelming, and hurtful. My point is they are just similar, and have some comparisons.)

    I enjoyed writing these Haikus, for, as a beginner in the art of poetry, they helped me get my thoughts out in an easy, short, and poetic way.
    *TIP: If you’re having trouble getting your thoughts out about something, or you’d like to try a different form of writing, try to write poems! There’s many various forms and structures to choose from, also they’re always unique and true to the author. If you take my advice and write one, please send it to me, I’d love to read them!*

  4. My inspiration for the poem “The Worm and I” was showing that not everything that hides away or smells or is icky is bad. I wanted to show how they actually help. I compared the worm to myself at the end because it makes it a more reletable poem. I showed how I am shy also but it doesn’t make me bad or mean or weird. I told how I try and help others just like the worms do too.

    • Megan, do the worms “try to help” or are they just doing their thing without any knowledge of the impacts of their activities? Your poem takes a different approach and talks about the benefits of worms, while others talk about how they damage the forest. Are you referring to their benefit in certain locations, like farms or gardens?

  5. Evan, I liked how you told us the process of how citizen science is conducted and the words you used helped me to visualize how citizen science works.

  6. Chloe, I really like how you compared finding worms to finding love. I never thought about that comparison before, so your poem was very interesting for me to read. I especially love when you said, ” Earthworms here today originate from Europe, like love appearing, what once was not there, suddenly arrives and stays forever.” I think that line is very poetic and a great way to explain how the worms came to America, established their place, and didn’t leave. Also, I enjoyed the ending of your poem when you compared writing a report to making a vow. I thought it was a great conclusion to your poem, and makes the poem seem like you were telling a story.

  7. Chloe, I live all of the numbers and data you use in your poem, and how you make it all a parallel to a marriage between two people. It was very well done.

  8. Mohammed, I really liked how you described what each of the types of worms were and the pattern of describing the worm and saying Named Anecic. I also really liked how you said “once known as the guardians of gardens”. I thought that was a really good way of showing how most people think of earth worms.

Comments are closed.