Where oh where could you be?

This week my peers and I decided we were going to participate in the Lost Ladybug project, it is a citizen science project that asks people to go out, look for ladybugs, and photograph them so they can compile the data and find the elusive nine-spotted ladybug. I know what you’re thinking, ladybugs can’t be lost. But that is where you’re wrong.

The pond on the west side of the WCC campus.

The pond on the west side of the WCC campus.

These nine-spotted ladybugs have been getting rarer and rarer and these scientists that work for the Lost Ladybug Project are trying to find out why that is. So of course me and my classmates decided to go and look for some ladybugs on the West side of the WCC campus by the pond, thinking “of course we will find some ladybugs.”

We found none.

We were, and still are, baffled by this turn in events, we were in a field filled with long grass and flowers, it was a sunny day in early summer. I even found a beetle that looked like a ladybug but wasn’t.

The beetle that we thought was a ladybug.

The imposter that we mistook as a ladybug.

While out looking for ladybugs we encountered many other insects and animals, such as: Birds, Geese, Dragonflies, and Moths. Needless to say we are still wondering where all the ladybugs went, and I am determined to find out by the end of this school year.

My peers and I are determined to figure out where the ladybugs are on campus, we see them in the ceiling lights and on the windowsills, yet we still can’t find any ALIVE. We are going to pursue these creatures until we can get a photo of a live ladybug and upload it to the website, of that I am certain.

This so far has been a very educational experience, I never knew there are 5,000 different type of ladybug! and we are looking for just one type, how will we ever find a nine-spotted ladybug? Will we even find one at all?

 

 

“The Lost Ladybug Project.” Lost Ladybug Project. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 June 2014.

One thought on “Where oh where could you be?

  1. Pingback: Where oh where could you be? part 2: Found you. | Science on Campus

Comments are closed.