Mission Accomplished

Eastern fox squirrel found on University of Michigan campus.

Eastern fox squirrel found on University of Michigan campus.

At last, I have spotted some squirrels! The first time that I went around looking for them, they kept on playing hide and seek, only coming out every once in a while. Finally, after time and patience, I have found them. It was a struggle, but it was definitely worth it.

In the summer, squirrels are known to be most active two times a day. Specifically, two to three hours after the sun has risen and two to three hours before sunset. From this research, I now know that searching for squirrels during science class is not a good time to do so, since we meet from 2:40 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.  We are never able to find any squirrels during class because the sun sets at around 9:00 p.m. in Michigan, and science class meets at about six hours before sunset. So, I have decided to expand my research and observe places other than WCC campus.

I decided to make some observations at my home in Ann Arbor, Michigan. I noticed that whenever I get home from school at around 5:00 p.m., there are always three or four squirrels surrounding the bird feeder in my front yard. Since I know that there are squirrels in my area, I decided to go squirrel watching on the morning of June 25 at 7:30 a.m. While I was sitting quietly in my front yard, I saw three eastern fox squirrels. One of the squirrels was walking along the road, while the other two squirrels were climbing on a nearby tree. I know they were eastern fox squirrels because they were found in an urban environment and they had reddish-brown fur which  are common characteristics of an eastern fox squirrel.

The other place where I saw a squirrel was at the University of Michigan campus on a warm, sunny day. I was sitting in the Diag on central campus with a few of my friends on June 22 at 6:30 p.m. All of a sudden, one of my friends said, “Hey look, it’s a squirrel!” My immediate reaction was to turn around and snap a picture of what appeared to be an eastern fox squirrel. I tried to get as close as I could to the squirrel, but I only got about 15 feet away before it got scared and ran off. The squirrel had reddish-brown fur and a lighter underside. Eastern fox squirrels also tend to like to be in open environments and urban settings which is very similar to the setting of the Diag.

Sources:

“A Squirrel Place Facts Section.” A Squirrel Place Facts Section. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 June 2014.

Fahey, Bridget. “Critter Catalog.” BioKIDS. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 June 2014.

“Sciurus Niger.” Animal Diversity Web. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 June 2014.

