Squirrels Again?

20140626_085118 2

A Fox Squirrel that I found in my neighborhood

In my previous post, I talked about my experience and observations when my group and I, in my environmental science class, went searching for squirrels. The squirrel search wasn’t very successful because we didn’t find any squirrels on WCC Campus.  No findings of a single squirrel led us to conclude that the time of day we went searching wasn’t appropriate. Now I am a one-man team and I will be searching on my own. This time I’m not searching through WCC Campus, I’m taking this search to my neighborhood. Different times of day: in the evening and in the morning, and a completely different strategy. I will be riding my bike through my neighborhood while searching for squirrels.

IMG_0443

My neighborhood where I searched for squirrels.

 

After researching and finding out the cause for my group not finding any squirrels, I decided to go squirrel searching one last time. The time of day we went searching, the afternoon, wasn’t the appropriate time to search for squirrels. Squirrels come out at two times of day, the morning, and the evening. I decided to go searching during both the morning and the evening; however, this time I didn’t search on WCC Campus. I searched through my neighborhood to find a squirrel, or maybe even several squirrels.

On the first day, June 24 2014, I went bike riding for around an hour looking for a squirrel. The weather was cloudy with a temperature of seventy-two degrees Fahrenheit. There are lots of trees in my neighborhood, mostly oak trees, but also pine trees. I found many chewed up pinecones once again, but unfortunately no squirrels findings. Where could the squirrels have gone?

On my last day of searching, June 25, 2014, I went bike riding once again. This time the weather was a temperature of seventy-two degrees Fahrenheit. As I was riding on the sidewalk, I noticed something at the corner of my eye. It appeared to be a rabbit, but as I slowly approached it, I found a squirrel. It was a fox squirrel  nibbling on an acorn, and I quickly snapped a photo of it. As the squirrel ran away, I followed it to where it lived.  The squirrel lived in an oak tree, where it had a nest, and lots of pinecones and acorns to eat.

Fortunately, I did find a squirrel this time and I was extremely happy about my finding. This search was a successful one, but there really isn’t a secret to finding a squirrel. They mostly come out in the morning, but a squirrel can also be found in the evening. From my experience, it is difficult to find a squirrel in the afternoon because they aren’t very active. Changing my strategy in this search was very effective because I changed the times of day I went searching, in the morning and the evening. Also, changing the location from WCC Campus to my neighborhood was also a reason that this search was successful because there are so many people at campus, and they scare the squirrels.

 

Works Cited

Elbroch, Mark, and Kurt Rinehart. Behavior of North American Mammals. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011. Print.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

