Disruptions of Fragile Ecosystems


Invertebrates and amphibians are both very complex creatures. They’re cold blooded, lay eggs, and are covered in slimy, gross, mucus. These creatures have to learn to coexist with each other every day. Just living in a regular ecosystem, survival is rough. In our individual poems, we will talk about how these creatures had to coexist inside of an ecotower and try to survive while existing.


 

I hate this chamber

By: Nicole Farmer

Dear aquatic chamber,

I try to keep you clean

I eat the algae and plants

And I still stay lean

I have nine other friends with me

But they just swim at the bottom

It’s way too packed in here

I think it’s hard to breathe

Your duckweed helps me get oxygen

But it is almost gone

And I don’t want to pass on

My life has been too short

Metamorphosis happened too fast

I started out as an egg

I broke out of my embryo

I grew my external gills

My gills will be replaced with lungs

And I will be able to go on land

I am starting to grow my back legs

I can’t wait to walk

My tail will be absorbed into me

I will grow much larger

My body is elongating

I will soon be fully grown

When I leave your chamber

I will find a place of my own

I will own my own swamp

And be king of the forest

I’m imagining the day

That I can leave this smelly chamber

Things are decomposing above me

Your bottle grows more moldy

I try to keep you clean

But you are just disgusting

Sincerely, Tad, The soon to be frog

(Tadpole)


 

Worms Hurt

By: Matt David

worms don’t hurt,

worms eat dirt,

Just detritivores

decomposing waste,

with no haste,

worms eat dirt,

worms don’t hurt,

(researched worms)

YES THEY DO

invasive species

destroying a duff layer

one meter a year

brought over by a european player

trying to run a farm

didn’t mean to cause no harm,

but now worms,

are getting perms,

eating leaves,

a meter down there held up

in slender borows,

waiting for sundown

to down a duff layer

so slimy brown


Tadpole

By: Abdul Ghani-Bashir

The duckweed above me

helps my breathing,

for it gets oxidized with the H2O all around.

The rocks below

help my resting.

The clean hydrogen atoms all around

help me swim.

Living in this ecosystem,

I don’t have to worry about a single sound.

As you can probably tell,

I am a tadpole.

Happy not to live in a random fish bowl,

but someone who chose to take care of my soul.


 

The Miserable Tadpole

By: Maysa Flowers

Dear tower,

You keep me trapped in here

surrounded by wet, moist walls,

clear, yet yellowish water, and

small, multicolored pebbles. Tiny specks

of Duckweed fall on top of me and

my dead brothers and sisters.

Whole pieces remain floating at the top.

I’m forced to live with no sunlight and no food.

I feel like a prisoner.

I look through you at my surroundings on the outside.

I swim away with my ever growing back legs;

scared of the creatures on the other side.

I try to escape by burrowing deep down into the cracks in the pebbles.

No matter how hard I try, I’ll never get out of here.

I’ll always be stuck in this aquatic chamber,

along with the other microorganisms.

    Oh why oh why did I have to be a tiny, defenseless, little amphibian?

Why couldn’t I have been a vicious carnivore;

that could eat and take on anything in its path?

Or a detrivore;

and feed on the remains other organisms.

But no. In here I’m nothing.

In here I will decompose and still be nothing.

-A miserable Tadpole


4 thoughts on “Disruptions of Fragile Ecosystems

  1. Writing this science poem was very hard for me. I’m not used to combining poetry with science, this is the first time I’ve ever had to write a science poem. I had to do some research about tadpoles to figure out some of my lines. This poem took me a few hours of thinking and taking notes, but when I finished I was very happy with how it turned out. This poem was about our Eco tower that we designed in class. Our Eco tower worked pretty well until the last week, when a few of our tadpoles died.

  2. For me, this poem wasn’t super hard to do. The ideas kept flowing once I thought of the topic. Trying to tie in science however, was a bit of a challenge. I also wanted the tadpole to be seen as depressed and miserable, because I felt that’s how it felt being kept in the eco-tower. I honestly felt bad for the little tadpole because it was taken out of its natural environment and put into something it didn’t belong in or know how to survive in. So I hope my poem captured all of those feelings and views, as well as the science.

  3. This group has a cohesive collection of poems! You present different views on the quality of life inside the tower. Maysa admits in her comment that she felt bad for the tadpole. What about Abdul and Matt? Did the creatures in your tower have good lives? The tadpoles in the girls’ poems hate their lives, but Abdul’s tadpole says body and soul are both doing well.

  4. My poem was inspired by a project we did in my science class about worms. We did some research and it turns out worms are actually invasive species not native to most parts of north america including Michigan. Worms destroy the duff layer in forests by eating all leaves and other debris on the forest floor. I know my poem isn’t the best one but writing poetry does not come easy to me so I did my best.

Comments are closed.