Lonely Systems and Cycles

In recent weeks, a group of students have thought long and hard about connecting everyday life to different cycles in science and closed systems. Ahead, you will find a riddle that pertains to how life can feel at times, sad and lonely as if there’s nothing left, along with two other pieces of work that keep the same theme, talking about how life can be barren and hard to survive. All these poems are a good way to look at how your life connects to the natural world.

The Life Cycle

by Kelsey May

Radiant Energy warms and shines,

Photosynthesis happens in plants to make their own energy,

Consumers eat those plants,

I think human life can be like this.

Consumer take others products,

Producers mourn over what they lose to others,

Decomposers end it all,

I am a producer, working hard to make it by only to lose it to another.

Systems like these always occur,

The sun using it’s power to help others,

Producers using that good to make more good,

I wish everyone could be like that.

But the sun will always shine, 365 days a year,

And the producers will always produce something,

Only to have consumers to take it away,

And I will continue to watch it happen until I myself am nothing but the ground that this cycle happens on.


Journey of a Worm

by Yasser Alhakim

I am decomposer,

Slithering down this chamber,

I am biotic and will always be,

Even if I am consumed through this trapped cell.

Creatures have died,

But I still survived,

Off their remains is energy for me

I take it all,

Call me a true detrivore.

Biomass is not stable,

I will not survive,

Soon I will be consumed,

The cycle repeats,

And I will be decomposed,

Just like dead meat.


Closed System

by George Barbu

I search for a more open system,

For there is lack of food,

Besides me and my squad, there is no sign of life,

Yet everything is biotic,

Besides the dirt, the water and sunlight.

Me and my squad are called a bed or a clew,

We change things into decomposition,

I have gave you many hints, but do you have a clue?

This eco-tower is not stable,

for there is not a fair amount of producers and carnivores.

I search for a more open system,

For there is a lack of food.

I have now realized that in a way, this system is closed.

9 thoughts on “Lonely Systems and Cycles

  1. I love how each poem is different. It’s not three poems that are about the same thing and sound the same.

  2. My poem was not easy to write. I am generally a really happy person so it was a stretch for me to write about something so heartbreaking and depressing. I’m not really sure where the inspiration for it came from, I guess it was just some emotions that I found deep within the confines of my subconscious. I saw how all the different pieces of an ecosystem related to each other, every level just adding onto the one before it and how cool and beautiful people think it is that the system works out almost perfectly every time. I decided to look at it from the plants perspective and think outside the box about how the plant must feel. Perhaps all they want in life is to be left alone, like how some people feel when they are picked on by someone older or more powerful.

  3. I really like how your group used all of the words we used in science class and incorporated them into the story in a unique way. I really struggled with that and it took quite some time to get mine the way I wanted to sound.

  4. Kelsey, you’re not the only one who has written a mournful poem!

    Is there anything hopeful about the eco-tower?

    • Not anymore since we threw it away. While cleaning out the tower though, we found we had not killed everything but there were still some ants and a couple worms left.

  5. My poem was was not hard to come by. I sat down reviewing what I learned the previous day and I began to make a draft. What inspired me to come up with these lines was putting myself in place of the worm in my eco tower. It allowed me to think of the different process of this poem.

  6. when I wrote my science poem, I found writing it pretty hard. I placed myself in the eyes of a worm and things just started to pop up in my mind and I had no more trouble. I realized that the worms lived in at tight space and that the system isn’t really open.

  7. These poems are great variations on some of the “systems thinking” we did earlier this year in English. I also think that Yasser’s poem even looks rather worm-like in its format of centered, short lines. I wonder whether that was deliberate?

Comments are closed.