It’s a Really Big Spider Web! No Silly! It’s the Daucus Carota!

Daucus Carota

A Bing image of the Daucus Carota.

     Have you ever stepped out of your comfort zone? Tried to see things for what they really were? Look past just the initial exterior of an object, and learn more? Have you ever seen seen something and wondered what it was? It’s not your first time seeing this “thing,” but you just don’t know what it is? You may have an inkling of an idea, but you can’t put it into words? Completely mind boggled? Right? I saw one of the prettiest, yet oddly put together plants, probably in my lifetime. I could draw it, I could describe it well in detail, but I couldn’t name it! What is this anonymous plant I’m looking at? Is it even a plant? Maybe a flower? It’s a spiderweb! No, maybe a birds nest! No– maybe it’s a– What is this thing?!     While attending my Environmental Science class, we were introduced to a rather unfamiliar task, at least for myself, called the ‘Sit Spot Challenge. The idea is to find a place put in the woods, on Campus, and observe. The goal is to be able to see something different each time, and elaborate.
The Daucus Carota, also known as Bird’s nest, Wild Carrot, Bishop’s Lace, and most referred to as Queen Anne’s Lace, is the anonymous, yet well recognized plant I couldn’t put my finger on! Wild, and native to Europe and Southwest Asia, this plant grows up to 3.3ft. Not to be confused with the beautiful, yet poisonous giant hogweed, though similar in appearance, the Daucus Carota is most famous for it’s “web-like” pattern of flowers that grows. It is a member of the Apiaceae family, being one of the largest in its group, Dicot. This plant is of very great use. From eating it in your favorite dish, to using it as a cure for worms, or even obtaining a low blood pressure. Though this plant is quite appealing to look at, it is recognized in Afghanistan as a major weed.
As I learned new information of this every day plant I frequently saw, I never knew how important it actually was. When I first took time to examine the plant, I described it as “weed-like.” It was a dull brown, and the stem looked to be weak. But as it turns out, the plant is of use, in more ways than one. I enjoyed observing the plant, and researching it as a whole. Not only did I learn to be more observant, but to never just judge a book– or plant, by it’s cover. 

 “Plants Profile for Daucus Carota (Queen Anne’s Lace).” Plants Profile for Daucus Carota (Queen Anne’s Lace). N.p., n.d. Web. 26 June 2015.
“Disclaimer.” Giant Hogweed. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 June 2015.
One thought on “It’s a Really Big Spider Web! No Silly! It’s the Daucus Carota!

Comments are closed.