Plathemis Lydia

They fly, they’re small, and they’re fast. These fast creatures catch their prey midair; don’t live very long. Do you know what I’m talking about? I bet you don’t!

You don’t tend to notice them unless they fly right next to you, or in front of you. When I saw this dragonfly, he flew right in front of my face, then I saw another dragonfly following him. The first one I saw had a bright white tail, while the other was darker; easily mistaken for black at first glance. I also noticed that there was a black line across both their wings. I saw these two dance around for a while before they flew off to where I couldn’t see them. Then not too long after, I saw them again, but not in front of me. I wouldn’t have seen either if I wasn’t looking for them. They were sitting on a cattail off to the right, separate from one another. The white one didn’t stay there long, and the darker one didn’t follow. I only suspect they got into an argument and went their separate ways.

The reason I caught onto this is because I love nature. There’s something about animals in their natural habitat that catches my eye, and I love it! Animals doing their own thing, on their own mission. Sometimes with a partner in crime, with a whole group, and other times by themselves. These dragonflies were on a mission, and once that mission was over with, they parted ways. Well, that’s what I suspect what happened.

Plathemis Lydia is also known as the Common Whitetail dragonfly (Arkive.org). The reason they are called Common Whitetails, according to Arkive.org, is because they are common all over the U.S. and lower Canada. As I was looking through this website I found that I saw both a male and a female dragonfly; that they are normally found by ponds, slow moving rivers, ditches, meadows and marshes; and that they catch their food in midair! I found all this out and more! If you want to find out more, take a look at the website: arkive.org

common-whitetail

Male Common Whitetail (arkive.org)

common-whitetail-female

Female Common Whitetail (arkive.org)

2 thoughts on “Plathemis Lydia

Comments are closed.