Sky Tears

In our third Sit Spot, we were challenged to make observations without using sight to help us. I really enjoyed this activity because the particular day that we did this, it was raining. I had never really thought about what rain feels like against your skin because I’m always freaking out about not getting being in the rain. It was relaxing to sit down and think about how it feels when it rains, where the rain comes from and how it gets back to you.

Forest Canopy above my Sit Spot

Forest Canopy above my Sit Spot

Whenever it’s raining outside, I always think of it as an inconvenience, having to grab and umbrella and run outside, trying not to get rained on. During our Sit Spot Challenge, I took the time to think about and feel what rain is really like. I know it seems like an obvious thing, just like little water drops hitting you, but it’s so much more than that.

The Water Cycle, also known as the Hydrologic Cycle, goes like this: Evaporation, Condensation, Precipitation, Run-off  and then it starts all over again. This means that water from the Earth is turned into gas, formed into clouds, and when they get too heavy they fall wherever they please. In reality, when I was sitting at my Sit Spot, Lake Michigan could have been raining on me. Fish could have swam through that water, peed in it and now it’s all over me. The water falling from the sky onto me could very well be from somewhere else in the United States and quite simply anywhere else in the world!

The Water Cycle

The way water moves through the world by Evaporation, Condensation, Precipitation and Run-Off.

Going back to what rain feels like, it’s nice to think about other ways you know it’s raining, even if you can’t see it. I think about all the times I’m sitting in my house, watching T.V, eating, sleeping, and know it’s raining because of that unmistakable noise of rain drops hitting against my window. That endless pitter-patter when the rain is coming down softly, lightly touching the windows, then sliding down gracefully. On the other hand there’s that full force gust that makes you think that surely the siding will fall of your home and you’re 99.9% sure that your house is about to float away like a big comfy boat.

While sitting at my Sit Spot, there were no windows for rain to hit up against, so the sound that I relate to sitting in my house and hearing the rain wasn’t there. The sound of rain hitting against leaves is a different sound. It’s sharper, as if the rain will puncture a hole right through the thin green plant. I think that’s really cool that even though they are such different sounds, you can still easily pin point what’s happening in the world around you.

It’s interesting to think that even while sitting in your house, relaxing in your Sit Spot,  or running through a parking lot to get to your car when it’s pouring and any other instance when there is water falling from the sky, that any one else in the entire world could have touched that water that is hitting you, and that in some abstract way, has connected you to someone else living and going about their own day in the world, just as you are too.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Sky Tears

  1. I never thought about rain like that. Its very interesting. Before reading this post I used to only look at rain as something to cool me off when I’m outside on a hot day. Now its kind of weird that some fish could have swam through that. I like it.

Comments are closed.