Bees are Actually Important!

This is a Western Honey Bee that looks similar to what I found at my sit spot at the WCC campus (source: wikipedia.org)

This is a  honey bee that looks similar to what I found at my sit spot at the WCC campus
(source: wikipedia.org)

Bees actually have some benefit for us even though they don’t seem like they do. What most people don’t know is that bees are the most hardworking insect. Surprisingly a bee only makes about 1 and a half table spoons of honey in its lifetime. According to goldenblossomhoney.com, to make one pound of honey, bees would have to visit about two million flowers and would have to travel about 55,000 miles.

While sitting in my sit spot I encountered a bee that would not leave me alone. I was afraid it was going to sting me and so I started freaking out. Of course I knew that throwing my hands everywhere and going crazy wouldn’t help but I didn’t even care, and started doing that. Most people, including me, are afraid and don’t like bees, but what they don’t know is that bees are actually one of the insects that we need to survive.  They pollinate 70 of the around 100 crop species that feed 90% of the world. So without them we wouldn’t have half of the food supply that we have today. Not only do they help with pollinating plants but they also help produce approximately $19 billion worth of agricultural crops in the U.S. Sure, bees could sting and hurt people, but that is only if you bother the bee or colony in someway. 30% of bees are dying every winter in the United States alone! You could help bees by doing a few simple things, like not spraying pesticides and chemicals in your gardens, plant bee-friendly flowers, and put fresh water out for them, bees get thirsty too. Always remember when you encounter an “annoying” bug or insect they’re probably doing so much for us, so instead of trying to kill it help it.

