Hearing the sounds of the forest

In my environmental science class we went outside several times into the WCC pine woods forest. We went out there to our Sit Spots to observe the wilderness and write down and draw what we saw. We stayed out there every time for about one and a half hours, which is our whole science class.

This is a picture of the aquatic plants that live in and around the pond in front of my sit spot.

This is a picture of the aquatic plants that live in and around the pond in front of my sit spot.

This is a picture of the ground and pond right in front of my Sit Spot.

This is a picture of the ground and pond right in front of my Sit Spot.

In my fist spot I noticed many abiotic and biotic things around my Sit Spot. One biotic thing that really caught my attention was the birds. All their voices were a little different and it was very peaceful to sit down and listen to, it was like all the birds were singing songs to each other. What I also noticed was the pond water, which is abiotic, it was slightly clearer than the last time I was there. You could see all the black little water bugs crawling around on the top on the duckweed that was covering parts of the pond. This pond water provides health for all the life around it, without this pond the trees, bugs, aquatic life, and plants might not be thriving in this area like they are now.

This is a picture of the water when you could see the water bugs floating and crawling around on top.

This is a picture of the water when you could see the water bugs floating and crawling around on top.

In my second Sit Spot we wrote about disturbances that had happened around our Sit Spot. According to britanica.com, “A disturbance in an ecosystem is an event or force, of nonbiological or biological origin that brings about mortality to organisms and changes in their spacial patterning in the ecosystems that they inhabit. Disturbance plays a significant role in shaping the structure of individual populations and the character of whole ecosystems.” I noticed many things that had been disturbed at my Sit Spot that I wasn’t really looking for before. It really interested me in the things that I found. The first thing that I had noticed was the tree limbs that had fallen into the pond, I believe this happened during the strong winds and rain that happened the night before I went out to my Sit Spot. The tree limbs that fell off the pine trees fell onto the ground next to me and in the pond right in front of me. Since the tree limbs fell into the pond I believe that it would have also disturbed the aquatic life living in the pond. Another disturbance that I became aware of was that the pond itself is a disturbance, the WCC pond did not just appear there, it was a man made pond. I also noticed that some of the trees by my Sit Spot had odd looking trunks; in the middle of the trunks there seemed to be parts where they were curving in a new direction. My science teacher had informed me that this could have been due to the fact that trees grow toward the direction that has the most sunlight, so if a tree is growing one way it could change directions if the sunlight and radiation is stronger in a different area. The leaves up in the trees have also fallen, they have turned brown and started to decompose back into the surface of the forest floor.

Many plants grow in the pond, this is a view of some of them.

Many plants grow in the pond, this is a view of some of them.

One thought on “Hearing the sounds of the forest

Comments are closed.