The Peels

Walk past the school and the large pond out back. Follow a few trails and you’ll find what seems to be a man-made campsite. Walk a little bit more and you’ll land were I sit and l record my findings. Each week it is unknown what I will see. The range of what could be out there is huge. Anything from little bugs on the ground, a deer on the land , or a bird passing over head. I wasn’t paying attention to any of these things. I notice something that may often go unseen. Something about the trees was unique and caught my eye.

 Sit Spot Pond

Sit Spot Pond

  On my walk to the location of my sit spot I couldn’t help but notice that a lot of the bark on most of the trees  were peeling off.I wonder about this and dove a bit deeper. The peeling of the bark is limited to the south or southwest side of the tree but can be changed by sun-scald and frost damage. I also discovered that if there is fungus under the peeling bark that it either is suffering from environmental damage or disease.

   I mention above about how the trees may have a disease which probably got you wondering “What kind of disease ?” and ” How do you know if it does?” The United states has a average of 20 common tree diseases that play a role in health decline and death of most tress. I looked deeper into theses 20 types of diseases and to me it seemed that the trees in my sit spot fit two of the 20 diseases.

  The first one is called bacterial wet wood (slime flux). This bacterial is in the trunk and branches of the trees. It is water-soaked into the tree which weeps from the tree. It isn’t always a bad thing but often is because the bacteria alters wood cells and often causes moisture content in the wood and can constant a fermented sap which is toxic to new wood.

Example of Wet wood

Example of Wet wood

   The other is dutch elm disease which is a fungus infection which causes clogging of the vascular tissues, preventing water movement to the crown and causing visual symptoms as the tree wilt and dies.

Example of Dutch Elm

Example of Dutch Elm

   Learning this information helped me look at trees differently. They are special and suffer just like we do. We should treat them better then what we do. We need to stop cutting them down and let them live. Help them be healthy and live because without them we die.

