How to observe with quality.

These two poems are all about science method and what it’s like using them. The first poem talks about someone going threw the steps of the scientific method and what it’s like. The second poem is in the mind of someone taking field notes and how the mind can wander and question things.

A Scientific Method By: Rosie Knafl

Gazing around at the grass covered ground, I observed photosynthesis at work in trees and flowers and leaves.

What can I observe? Everything, if I look carefully at the wonderful world that preserves evidence of life.

But what can I do with that alone? If I have no intentions to figure it out? An inference must be made, a logical guess, to take this from the darkest shades.

I infer that without the bright rays of light, all would wither and die and shrink into blight.

Just like a clownfish and sea anemone, an observation and inference cannot survive standing alone. They are Symbiotic in nature, depending on each other to thrive.

For a glorious science to progress, these must march hand in hand. If not, we will lose all that has evolved and made us man.

In the Mind of Field Notes By: Sarah Howell

give title to notes
hate title, throw it away
forget title and start looking for stuff to write down
“Forest floor is kind of wet”
find something better to write down
“Lots of big oaks”
should I draw a picture?
no picture looks like a five year old drew it left handed
“Oak uses photosynthesis to make energy for itself”
everyone knows that, why am I writing it down
“Leaves have six points”
should I recount, nah I think i’m right
oh, a squirrel
should i draw that too
picture looks better
“Fur silky and brown like the oak trees it lives in”
that would be a good caption
no, looks like you’re trying too hard
“Brown fur”, creative…
are squirrels omnivores?
do they eat bugs too or just nuts?
“Most Likely herbivores, although they might kill smaller animals”
would a squirrel attack a chipmunk?
odd shaped pond
aw, a frog
eh… dead frog
someone might get energy from that
maybe a snake?
do snakes eat dead animals?
kind of wanna catch a snake now…
maybe I should find one
the sky looks like it’s going to rain
maybe I should go?
should I write about that too?

6 thoughts on “How to observe with quality.

  1. Rosie, I love how you’re on a desperate quest for information in your poem! And Sara, I love how self-conversational your poem is! One shows an overly confident scientist, while the other shows a normal, teenage-minded scientist. And that’s a compliment!

    • I agree with Luke on the presentation of Sara and Rosie’s poems. The style between the two are very unique, and certainly differ from one another! It’s awesome how they were able to write poems about Science as a skill, and how they got inspiration to do so!

  2. The poem I wrote was In The Mind of Field Notes. It is a free verse poem that talks about the thoughts and idea’s of someone taking field notes. What most inspired me to write about field notes was how hard it was to actually take them and having no idea what to really write down. One of the biggest challenges was trying to find a way to separate thought with written word.

    • I like how your poem had one line showing what the individual did, and the next showing what they thought. That was especially nice considering how light-heated and funny their thought process was.

  3. In my Poem “A scientific method”, It is a free verse poem that talks about observations and inferences. I think one of the challenges of writing a poem about observations and inferences was how to convey how these two methods work together in science – that you can’t have one without the other. What inspired me to write about this topic, was how I used to try and remember the difference between the two when I was younger. Overall, I really like how it turned out.

  4. I Like how you guys used science vocab in your poems and you used it correctly. I also like the detail and everything in it. I also likes how it talks about observations and inferences and your use of it was great also.

Comments are closed.